Go to current week.

Date
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon,
May 5
2:00 pm
TBD
Program Organisers
Organisational Meeting with all Participants

Thu,
May 8
2:00
pm
Founders'
Room
Everyone
Discussion: What are the outstanding questions? What do we hope to achieve

Mon May 12
11:15
SSR
Progam Organisers
Brief Organisational Meeting
2nd organisational meeting and welcome for new participants.
Tue,
May 13
11:30
SSR
Karl-Heinz Rädler, Alice Courvoisier & Eun-jin Kim
Discussion: Determination of Transport coefficients
see reference page
Thu May 15
2:00
Aud
Paul Roberts & Andrew Soward
On the Navier-Stokes alpha-equations
see reference page
Fri May 16
11:30
SSR
Keith Moffatt, Pat Diamond & Graeme Sarson
Discussion: Magnetostrophic Turbulence
see reference page
Mon May 19
12:15
Aud
Steve Tobias
Blackboard lunch: Dynamo Theory from experiments to galaxy clusters (via planets and stars)
This is a seminar of general interest (or lack thereof)
Tue May 20
11:30
SSR
David Galloway, Annick Pouquet & Joanne Mason
Discussion: Alignment and cross-helicity
see reference page
Thu May 22
2:00
Aud
Ellen Zweibel, Fausto Cattaneo, Ethan Vishniac, Edgar Knobloch, Pat Diamond & David Hughes
Discussion: Aspects of MRI physics
and dynamos

see reference page
Fri May 23
11:30
MSR
Keith Moffatt
Rattleback Reversals: A Prototype of Chiral Dynamics
This is a seminar of general interest
see reference page
Tue May 27
11:30
SSR
Kandaswamy Subramanian, Ethan Vishniac and Shane Keating
Magnetic helicity and alpha-suppressions
see reference page
Thu May 29
2:00
Aud
Dr Liu (Caltech), Fritz Busse and Gary Glatzmaier
Zonal flows in Jupiter
see reference page
Fri May 30
11;30
SSR
David Gubbins, Fritz Busse
and Graeme Sarson
Geomagnetic Reversals
see reference page
Tue June 3
11:30
Aud
Matt Browning, Ben Brown & Juri Toomre
Stellar dynamos: elements that work
see reference page
Thu June 5
2:00
Aud
Tomomasa Tatsumi
A new approach for turbulence
see reference page
Fri June 6
11:30
Aud*
Ellen Zweibel
A gentle introduction to the physics of galactic dynamos
see reference page
Tue Jun 10
11:30
SSR
Jean-Francois Pinton, Cary Forest and Franck Plunian
Sodium dynamo experiments on two continents: history and current successes
see reference page
Weds Jun 11
2:00
Aud
Mitch Berger
Self organization of braided magnetic fields
see reference page
Thu Jun 12
10:00
Tower
Informal Discussion
Calculation of alpha and beta

Thu Jun 12
11:00?
????
Informal Discussion
Experiments?

Fri Jun 13
11:30
SSR
Dan Lathrop and Dominique Jault
Dynamo experiments, planets, rotation and the disconnect between theory and experiment
see reference page
Tue Jun 17
11:30
SSR
Igor Rogachevski
Large-scale dynamos with no helicity
see reference page
Thu Jun 19
14:00
Aud
Sacha Brun, Alexander Ruzmaikin & Joan Feynman, Peter Ditlevsen, Steve Tobias
Solar Variability and possible effects on climate
see reference page
Fri Jun 20
11:30
SSR
Axel Brandenburg, Mike Proctor & Nathan Kleeorin
The role of shear in dynamos
see reference page
Mon Jun 23
11:30
SSR
Everyone
Brief Organisational Meeting

Tue Jun 24
11:30
SSR
Gary Glatzmaier & Chris Jones
Stratification, Convection and Dynamos in the Giant Planets
see reference page
Weds Jun 25
12:00
SSR
Pat Diamond & Sasha Balk
Zonal Flows
see reference page
Thu Jun 26
14:00
Aud
Paul Bushby, Francois Rincon & Nathan Kleeorin
Turbulent convection and convective dynamos
see reference page
Mon Jun 30
14:00
Aud
Everyone
Brief Organisational Meeting

Tue July
1
11:30
SSR
Uli Christensen & Chris Jones
Scaling Laws in Dynamos
see reference page
Weds July 2
11:00
Tower
Anyone interested
Anelastic Benchmarking

Weds July 2
14:00
SSR
Mark Miesch, Matthias Rempel, Tami Rogers & David Galloway
Convection, Differential Rotation, Meridional Flows, Stable Layers and Dynamos!
see reference page
Thu July 3
14:00
Aud
Steve Tobias, Nic Brummell, Chris Jones & Sacha Brun
The tachocline: angular momentum transport and instability
see reference page
Tue July 8
11:30
SSR
Henri-Claude Nataf, Andy Jackson & David Gubbins
The core and the mantle
see reference page
Thu July 10
14:00
Aud
Gordon Ogilvie, Axel Brandenburg, Nic Brummell & Lara Silvers
Dynamos driven by instabilities
see reference page
Fri July 11
11:30
SSR
Stas Boldyrev, Steve Tobias, Uli Christensen, Henri-Claude Nataf & David Galloway
Dynamos at low Pm
see reference page
Jul 14–18
8:50 am
MSR

Chris Jones, Daniel Lathrop, Steven Tobias, Ellen Zweibel

Magnetic Field Generation in Experiments, Geophysics and Astrophysics
Conference Week
*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room [TOP]